Category Archives: News

State Senator Introduces Minimum Wage Bill.

Senator Jeff Yarbro introduced the Tennessee Minimum Wage Act in Nashville this week. The minimum wage would become 15 dollars per hour starting July 1st, 2020 if SB 1788 is passed.

Yarbro also filed SB1797, which would move the minimum wage for state employees to $15 as well.

The minimum wage is in its 11th year without a rise, the longest such period in the history of the country since the minimum wage was introduced. During that time the cost of living has increased 20 percent across the board, however gasoline, rent/housing, insurance and food such as beef have seen much sharper spikes, costing as much as 50 percent more on average vs 11 years ago.

Do you agree that the state should set a higher minimum wage? If not 15 dollars at what would you suggest the new wage be set?

SB 1788

Salaries and Benefits – As introduced, increases, from $7.25 to $15, the minimum hourly wage for employees within the state. – Amends TCA Title 50, Chapter 2.

SB 1797

Salaries and Benefits – As introduced, requires the state to provide employees compensation equivalent to at least $15.00 per hour. – Amends TCA Title 4; Title 8, Chapter 23; Title 9; Title 49; Title 50 and Title 54.

Samperi And Chamber Promotes Campbell County At Retirement Show

Over 600+ couples attended the Ideal-Living Resort & Retirement Show in Schaumburg, IL over the past weekend. These attendees were looking to escape the ever increasing tax burden shared by residents from many states across the northeast and mid-west. Campbell County has participated in the Retire TN Program through the TN Department of Tourist Development for four years and they are finding that Tennessee is becoming a true retirement destination. With the economic impact of tourism in Campbell County a $60.9 million per year industry, each Campbell County household would pay $421.03 more in taxes if not for tourism revenue. Many retirees visit a community as a tourist three times before deciding to retire in that community. Samperi was honored to represent Campbell County and the Chamber of Commerce this weekend and blessed with the opportunity to share with others why we call our beautiful small town home.

Former Deputies Enter Plea At Arraignment

Back in December the Campbell County Grand Jury indicted a trio of deputies in connection with an alleged assault at the Campbell County Jail.

On Tuesday Justin Crabtree, Dakota Williams, and Sean Brown enter pleas of not guilty at their arraignment hearing.

An investigation by the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation led to the indictment after 8th District Attorney General Jared Effler requested an investigation into an alleged assault on a prisoner who was being booked into the jail. The investigation revealed an alleged assault by Justin Crabtree against a suspect being booked into the jail. It also revealed that Dakota Williams and Sean Brown were present during the assault.

The Grand Jury charged Crabtree with one count of Official Oppression and Aggravated Assault. Williams and Brown were both charged with Official Oppression, Official Misconduct and Assault by way of presentment.




Senator Yager Invites Local Youth To Serve As Pages

State Senator Ken Yager (R-Kingston) today invited local students in grades 6 – 12 in the 12th senatorial district to experience the legislature in action as a page in the State Senate. Pages, who perform a wide variety of duties, report to the Chief Clerk of the Senate when the General Assembly is in session from January until mid-to-late April.

“Service as Page is a great lesson in civics,” said Sen. Yager. “The young men and women who serve are on the Senate floor learn the legislative process from a front row view. The duties are varied: making copies, providing support to the Senators and working with the Clerk’s office. We do our best to provide a meaningful experience.”

Students wishing to be considered as a Senate Page can contact Senator Yager online at or can call his office toll free at 1-800 449-TENN ext. 44395. Parents or teachers are invited to attend with their child or student. An adult sponsor must attend with students under age 18.

“We will certainly take care of as many requests for pages as we can before the General Assembly adjourns in April,” added Yager. “I look forward to sponsoring many local students this year.”

Senator Yager represents Campbell, Fentress, Morgan, Pickett, Rhea, Roane, and Scott Counties in Senate District 12.

3.6 Quake Shakes Campbell Co and Surrounding Communities.

According to the USGS a 3.6 magnitude earthquake at a depth of 35.4 kilometers shook homes this afternoon in Campbell and surrounding communities. It was centered in the Valley area just East of Fincastle. This is the second earthquake in the same area in as many days, with a 2.8 quake hitting yesterday morning at 5 am.