Jamey Chadwell has led the Chanticleers of Coastal Caroline to an outstanding season. The team is undefeated, the top team in the Sun Belt Conference, and is currently ranked 15th in the nation.

Now he is on the watch list for one of the highest coaching honors there is, the Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award. Chadwell is joined on the list by Tom Allen if Indiana, Ryan Dunn of Ohio State, Jimbo Fisher of Texas A&M, Dabo Sweeny of Clemson, and Nick Saban of Alabama among many others.

According to the official website of the awards, “The Paul “Bear” Bryant College Football Coaching Awards is an exclusive event that honors a college football coach whose great accomplishments, both on and off the field, are legendary. The award recognizes the masters of coaching and allows them to take their deserved place in history beside other legends like Bear Bryant.”

LSU’s Ed Ogeron won the award in 2019.